MY LIFE AS A BOARDER

No. I don’t go to Hogwarts, however much I wish I did. Yes. I go to a boarding school, a religious boarding school at that. Most people are intrigued by the concept and others think it’s the worst thing to let a child sleep at school. I beg to differ. Being a weekly boarder at my school has been the best experience of my life, and all I’ve known for 9 years.
I can completely understand why people would be cautious sending their child to boarding but I disagree. Of course, it will not suit everyone but for me it really was the best option. This may sound awfully cliché but boarding truly is like a home away from home. I joined when I was 8 years old and the friends I made I consider just as much my family as the people I am related to.
I say this but I started sixth form in September and all the boarders that I’ve grown up with left my school. Of course a few people came at the beginning of the year but its really not the same. This has really made me feel quite isolated and trapped. Don’t get me wrong I still absolutely love it, and it makes me look forward to the day when I can spend time with my #squad (yes, I hate myself as much as you do), but its so weird not having the people I have literally shared my entire school experience with around me.
I’m pretty sure the fact that I’m so close to being able to drive also makes it worse. Knowing that in a few months I will be able to go out and visit my friends or family during the evening makes these evenings so tedious. Of course I know I sound ridiculous saying that I’m bored living in my posh school but I guess I’m trying to explain is I finally appreciate all my years with the people that mean the most to me. (that was actually quite cringe, haha).
H x

Leave a Reply

