My Favourite Books

I like to think of myself as a pretty avid reader, or at least I try to be. Before I started GCSEs and A Levels I would spend most of my time in the library but in the last few years I have had to move my focus to my studies and exams. Despite this every I still read in every holiday I get so I’ve decided to share my favourite books.

1. Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
I think most people can understand why this is a strong favourite for me. I have read this series at least 3 times now and it never fails to interest me. JK Rowling has somehow managed to create a universe that is so realistic yet magical(obvs!) and her character development is incredible. If there is anywhere I wish was real it would be Hogwarts!

2. Night School series by CJ Daugherty
This series isn’t actually all that incredible but I still love it. I started reading it when the first book was published and the love triangle was probably the main topic that hooked me. Of course I had my opinion and I needed to see it through lol. The actual series is about a girl called Allie who is part of a secret club- the night school- in her school that trains her to be part of the most elite and powerful group in the world. Her grandmother is the head of this group so she is next in line except, like every story, there’s an evil character doing everything in his way to prevent this.

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
I never thought I would like Pride and Prejudice, especially considering I was being forced to read it for my English Literature GCSE but I think reading and rereading the book, learning key quotes and having key themes drilled into my head for two years meant that I took it into my stride to enjoy the book instead of hating it. At least this way I will always remember the first sentence for good reason.

4. Everything Everything by Nicola Voon
TBH I don’t have much to say about this one I just think it’s a great book and it’s really clever how the author managed to create an interesting, emotional storyline, considering its about a girl who can’t go outside.

5. The Last Symbol by Dan Brown
The entire Robert Langdon series is incredible but The Lost Symbol is my absolute favourite. The plot is complex and the plot manages to tackle the controversial topic of religion in a way that is enjoyable and interesting. I love Dan Brown’s books because they put me in a mindset that allows me to have an entirely new insight to the world while I’m reading it which I think is an impressive skill for any author.

If anyone can suggest any new books for me to try I would be very grateful…
H x

One thought on “My Favourite Books

Leave a Reply

